OGHA Confirms Ex-LG Chairman, Others As Commissioner Members - The People's Voice


Tuesday, November 29, 2022

OGHA Confirms Ex-LG Chairman, Others As Commissioner Members

By Our Correspondent

Ogun State House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Governor Dapo Abiodun’s nominees, Mr. Abiodun Ajayi and Morufu Adesegun as members of Statutory Commissions barely four days after their screening by the State lawmakers.

The confirmation followed the adoption of a report of the Committee of the Whole House, Chaired by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo as presented by his deputy, Akeem Balogun, who also moved the motion for its adoption which was seconded by Solomon Osho and supported by other lawmakers.

The confirmation of the nominees was thereafter done through a motion moved by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff seconded by Damilola Soneye and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote.

According to the report presented by the Deputy Speaker, ”the curriculum vitae and credentials of the nominees were thoroughly and carefully scrutinised by Honourable Members. Thereafter, the nominees were interviewed by the Members.

The Committee found the nominees, Mr. Abiodun Donaldson Ajayi and Mr. Morufu Adebayo Adesegun suitable to assume office as Members of Statutory Commissions in Ogun State. The Committee therefore recommended that the confirmation of the screened nominees for appointment as Members of Statutory Commissions in the State be approved by the House, having found them eligible and suitable to hold office, in consonance with the provision of section 198 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal republic of Nigeria (as altered) ”

In another development, the Ogun State Drug and Health Commodity Agency Law, 2022 scaled first reading on the floor of the Assembly following the reading of its long title by the Clerk, Mr. Deji Adeyemo, represented by the Deputy Clerk, Barr. (Mrs.) 'Funmi Adeyemi before the Assemblymen.

No comments:

Post a Comment