Tuesday, July 19, 2022


By Jumoke Adeogun,  Abeokuta
As part of the fulfilment of the Memorandum of Action between it and State Chapter of the Nigeria Labour Congress(NLC), the Ogun State Government  has inaugurated the Contributory Pensions Scheme Review Committee and another Committee on Consequential Pensions Adjustment.

These committes are saddled with the responsibilities of ensuring improved welfare for its teeming civil and public workforce, as well as pensioners. 

It will be recalled that the state government reached an agreement with the Labour union on Friday July 1, 2022 as contained in the agreed "Memorandum of Action" to review the contributory pension scheme and the consequential adjustment on minimum pension among other things.

Inaugurating the Committees, at the Governor's Office, Oke- Mosan, Abeokuta, the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Tokunbo Talabi said the welfare of the workforce, serving and retired remained germane in the agenda of the Prince Dapo Abiodun-led administration, explaining that  government has put necessary modalities in place to commence the payment of gross salary from the month of July, 2022.

Talabi said "government will start paying the  gross salary to workers at the end of July while keeping faith with the promise to offset the backlog while payment of the leave allowances as part of the salary as applicable will be also be activated going forward".

The SSG said the committee has the mandate  to critically examine the operations/implementation of Contributory Pension Scheme(CPS), with a view to determining improved amount of monthly pensions payable to retirees in the State and Local Government to cushion the effect of the current economic realities. 

In his remark, the State Head of Service, Dr. Nafiu Aigoro who noted that the inauguration of the Committees was in fulfilment of the Memorandum of Action (MOA) signed on July 1st, 2022, maintained that the present administration was irrevocably committed to the welfare of both serving officials and retirees.

The State Chairman of Nigeria Labour Congress, Comrade Emmanuel Bankole, expressed optimism that the inauguration of the committees would address lingering labour issues. 

He allayed the fears of the public servants on the commitment of the Government saying "under his leadership we would achieve appreciable result to ameliorate the concerns of the workers".

The State Chairman of Nigeria Union of Pensioners, Comrade Waheed Oloyede admonished the committees to ensure speedy formulation of recommendations in line with present economic realities, towards boosting public confidence in government.

Members in the Contributory Pensions Scheme Review Committee include: Permanent Secretary in the State Ministry of Finance, Alhaji Hazzan Adekunle as Chairman, his colleagues in Budget and Planning, Mrs Ajimo Dada, Bureau of Establishment and Training, Mrs Lydia Fajounbo, Bureau of State Pensions, Mr. K Sodeinde, Bureau of Service Matters, Mr. Dahunsi Ogunleye and Bureau of Local Government Pensions, Mrs. D Adeniregun.

Others are Permanent Secretary (Treasury)/Accountant -General, Mr. Thomas Aregbesola, Permanent Secretary,  Ministry of Justice, 
Mr. A Adebayo, Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, State Pensions, Mr Babajide Macjob, Mrs Mojisola Okpandu, Mr. D. Amusan and Mr. M Bakare.

On the part of the Organized Labour included: Comrade Akeem Lasisi, Comrade Olusegun Adebiyi, Comrade Benco Ademola, Comrade Emmanuel Bankole and Comrade Akeem Balogun.

The Consequential Pensions Adjustment Committee has the Permanent Secretary,  Ministry of Budget and Planning, Mrs. Ajimo Dada as Chairman, with her counterparts in the Finance Ministry, Alhaji Hazzan Adekunle, Establishment and Training, Mrs. Lydia Fajounbo, State Pensions, Mr. K Sodeinde, Service Matters, Mr. Dahunsi Ogunleye, Local Government Pensions, Mrs. D Adeniregun, Accountant -General, Mr. Thomas Aregbesola, Justice, Mr. A Adebayo, Mr. K Ogun, Mr. A Bakare, Mrs. M Ajayi and Mr. Amin Aduloju as members.

Others are representatives of the Nigeria Union of Pensioners, Hon. Samson Adebo, Comrade Emmanuel Adeegbe, Comrade Tajudeen Oguntoyinbo, comrade Alexander Obadimu and Organized Labour, Comrade Abiodun Akinola, Comrade Adebiyi Olusegun and Comrade Ismail Sanyaolu.

No comments:

Post a Comment